Pocketfuls of Sunshine

My Little Grobanite

Posted on: October 3, 2008

The marketing machine that is Disney is one powerful entity. Just look at Hannah Montana and all things Miley Cyrus. Now, for the record, I think she is pretty talentless. I don’t think she sings well, and the way she talks…like, well, like…I can’t stand it. But I digress…

Disney has come out with some powerful stuff. Their newest thing is Imagination Movers, the band of guys who jump around and yell. And I know kids like this stuff, but I promised myself I wouldn’t be buying any soundtracks for things like these guys, The Wiggles, or the Doodlebops. Is that what they are called? I’m don’t even know if they are Disney creations, but you get the idea of these overly marketed must-let-your-kid-watch groups and shows. I seriously shield my eyes when we see them on the television in the waiting room at the doctor’s office. I’m sure kids love them, but they are just a bit over the top for me.

I make it a point to expose the kids to music everyday. At home, we have music on for the majority of the day. Let’s face it. Unless you choose Sesame Street or Little Einsteins (a personal favorite around here) or maybe QVC (the most “wild” thing on there may be a caller who wants to give a shout-out to her grandmother who is watching in North Dakota), there is practically nothing on TV throughout the day that is acceptable to be on in the background. In the car, we listen to various CDs. And there is one in particular that The Bean requests each time we take a trip to the grocery store or mall.

Much like her mother, she has become a little Grobanite. She LOVES Josh Groban. Particularly, she likes “Don’t Give Up” and “Remember When It Rained”. As he sings, she joins in. When he finishes, she yells out, “More!”

So the other day I remembered that we recorded Groban’s “Awake” tour program on our DVR. Now, I saw this concert live (thanks, Kaytee!) and it was the best concert I have ever seen. Absolutely fantastic. I am not exaggerating when I tell you that when the music started (he opens with “Don’t Give Up”), every single person was focused on what was going on. For the duration of the concert, I didn’t see anybody–not a single soul–get up to leave, use the restroom, refill on drinks, etc. I’m not kidding when I say that you could hear a pin drop. Nobody was talking. It was an amazing concert with the best audience.

When I remembered I had this on DVR (thanks to PBS), I put it on and The Bean was ecstatic. She listened, swayed, sang, and clapped during every song. And I’m not-so-secretly happy that she is listening to something other than the groups from the cartoon networks. She is my little Grobanite, and I can’t wait until she is old enough to see him in person.

So if you hear of a new tour anytime soon, leave a comment here! You can bet next time I’ll be sitting up close, and maybe The Bean will be with me if she’s old enough too.

Leave a comment

Pocketing nuggets of knowledge and bits of beauty one find at a time