Pocketfuls of Sunshine

The Big Bash

Posted on: December 7, 2008

So today was the big day. We decided to do a joint birthday party since Beanie turned 2 and Bubs is turning 1 shortly. Their birthdays are only 5 weeks apart and, added to the Christmas season that is upon is, it just seems fitting to celebrate together with one party. Now, some people would call me crazy for combining their parties as birthdays are often seen as big solo events, but I think most people were happy to do it all at once rather than duplicate the parties weeks apart. Not to mention that the kids are only 13 months apart and, for Beanie, it’s almost as if Bubs has been here all along. A joint party makes perfect sense for the two of them. They are little buddies.

She really is patient with him–for the most part. With the exception of her Bunny, Nee, and a select number of books or Little Einstein figurines, she is a great sharer. And if he does manage to get ahold of the precious Nee, she makes sure that although she takes Nee back promptly, she gives him something else to play with–usually something she identifies as his toy or something “baby”. I really think she understood that the little guy is turning 1 and they looked cute next to each other, ready to blow out the candles on the cake.

Some big thank yous are in order for making the day a success. And, if I leave anyone out, it’s just my exhaustion kicking in. We really are thankful for everyone who made their party full of fun and family. A big thanks to everyone who came, and everyone one who wanted to come but wasn’t able to, especially on the snowy roads today. We are glad everyone made it safely! Thanks to The Hubby’s family, who came far and brought veggies and fruit! They were yummy! Another big thanks to my brother, let’s call him Snickers (he will probably flick me in the ear next time he sees me for giving him that name in the blogosphere) and his wife (who I could call Oatmeal–she gets what I mean!) who helped to set up and brought all the balloons with them today! A party isn’t complete without shiny balloons–good picks! And a huge thanks to my parents (who Beanie lovingly calls “GaGa” and “Bumpa”) who offered to have the party at their house! It was a great setting and they helped immensely with all the preparations! THANK YOU!

And now that it is over, I’m sitting at the kitchen table, blogging. I should be putting all the generous gifts away. The are piled around me and need new spaces to lose their parts and be fallen over as the kids discover all that they do. As I see all of it, I can’t help but think that the newborn days are over–for now, at least. In a couple of weeks, the battle of the bottles will be over too. I can’t believe I have been bottle feeding for two straight years–with the exception of a three week period in December 2007. And now, I am officially the mommy of two toddlers–the second whom is about to take off walking any day now.

It just keeps getting better and better. Happy Birthday kiddos!

2 Responses to "The Big Bash"

I must point out that the baby name for Grandpa is spelled “Boompa,” lest someone mispronounce it as “bum-pa.” The first I heard of “Boompa” for Grandpa was in the movie, “Mr. Smith Takes a Vacation” starring the great Jimmy Stewart as “Boompa,” which irked his character throughout the film (but I’m good with it.) It’s a great movie….rent it or buy it, but do watch it.

BOOMpa (the emphasis is on the BOOM)

I like how Snickers and Oatmeal were used as code names. I think they will appreciate being mentioned on your blog. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

