Pocketfuls of Sunshine

Need some extra cents?

Posted on: November 8, 2008

Ok, so the penny isn’t the most useful monetary coin around, but….when you add them up, you can actually save some green.

I’ve always been a coupon nut, particularly when it comes to retail stores. I have an envelope that I carry in my purse (or diaper bag as it may be) just in case I need one of those wonderful pieces of cardstock. When it comes to grocery shopping, though, I can’t stand the little pieces of paper that say, “Save .25 when you purchase ten bags of cheese.” First, when can you use ten bags of cheese? Secondly, a quarter is small beans when you just spent fifteen bucks to have piles of cheese molding in your refrigerator.

And even if you find a grocery coupon that you would like to use, good luck to you in your quest for it once you actually hit the stores. My coupons inevitable fall into the crevices of my purse, through the bars of the shopping cart, or just plain fly away in the breeze. Some of them are the size of a mini-pillow, while others are no bigger than an Oreo cookie. Wouldn’t it be great if there was a standard size, say….of a Post-It perhaps…and then you could flip through them easily and not worry about dropping or losing one. Anyway, I digress.

I have been faithful about my coupon cutting, sorting, and organizing in the last several months as the cost of groceries has risen along with everything else. Don’t get me wrong. I am not one of those woman who The Today Show features because she has a binder full of coupons, organized alphabetically and by expiration date. That is beyond me. I do, however, manage to bring a stack with me and still use them conservatively. That is, only if I needed the item in the first place. I’m sure I’m not the only person who has bought something simply because I had a coupon. Nevermind that I just spent a few bucks I didn’t intend to in the first place.

But today, I found a site that eliminates paper coupons! Sounds too good to be true? Check it out for yourself. It’s called Shortcuts.com and it is a paperless coupon site for select stores. My grocer of choice happens to be Kroger. Thankfully, it is one of the stores that is compatible with this site. All you do is sign up (it’s free, don’t worry!) and you enter the number of your savings card associated with a particular store. Then you browse for coupons and add them directly to your card. Wallah! It’s easy! You can even print a shopping list before you head out to remind you which coupons you have stored on your card. And the best part of all? You can combine those card savings with other paper coupons as well! So, yes, still bring that annoying stack of extra coupons, but take comfort that with the swipe of your pre-loaded coupon card, you are not only saving cents but making sense as well.

Shop on!

1 Response to "Need some extra cents?"

Just checked out this site and it’s great! Thanks for the tip!! I will be trying it out at the local Kroger.

Leave a Reply

