Pocketfuls of Sunshine

Works For Me Wednesday

Posted on: October 22, 2008

Time for another edition of Works For Me Wednesday from Rocks in My Dryer.

With the end of the economic crunch no where in sight, coupons have become more valuable to the consumer than ever.  And, I’ve noticed, they seem to be more valuable to stores, too.  In the last couple of weeks, I have been receiving “generous” coupons nearly every day.  Free candles, free stuffed animals, free digital cameras.  The list goes on and on!  I’ve even received back to back coupons for $15 off a $40 purchase at Macy’s.  Obviously, stores are realizing the value of a coupon.  And I do too!

The problem with all these wonderful coupons is organizing them in a way that allows you to use them effectively.  My previous organizational tactic was to throw them (quite literally) in a coupon drawer.  Then, when it came time to use them, I had to dig and dig to see what I had.  More often than not, I ended up buying something and then realizing later that I found a coupon in the bottom of the drawer. Not really the most effective way to save money.

So, I grabbed some trusty mailing envelopes and a Sharpie.  I sorted all of my coupons by theme.  Retail (i.e. mall stores and Babies R Us), grocery, food (as in restaurants), formula (which I will no longer need in another few months), and Bed, Bath, and Beyond (since they are bigger than my car).  After sorting them, I put them in the appropriate envelope and labeled them.  I am happy to say that this is a neater and more effective way of organizing coupons.  It isn’t so daunting to go through an envelope to see what I have for a particular outing, and I can easily throw away ones that have expired.

So take back your drawers.  Invest in some envelopes.  Save some money.  Sounds good to me.

1 Response to "Works For Me Wednesday"

LOL–what is it with those HUGE Bed, Bath & Beyond coupons? I guess they don’t want you to miss them!

Leave a Reply

