Pocketfuls of Sunshine

‘Tis the Season

Posted on: September 15, 2008

For shopping. And giveaways. (There’s info on how to get your own free set of new edition hardcover Harry Potter books at the end of this post. Read on!)

Two years ago at this time, I was 7 months pregnant and expecting The Bean. So I decided I would have all of my Christmas presents bought and wrapped by October. People probably laughed at me, but they weren’t the ones lugging a big bowling around in their bellies while trying to carry packages and purchases. I managed to get it done, between trips to the mall and the Internet. Let me give thanks for online shopping. It’s a wonderful thing.

One year ago at this time, I was only 6 months pregnant, (yes, you read that right–if you haven’t noticed or are new to Pocketfuls, my children are 13 months apart), but I also had a 10 month old who was not yet mobile. So again, I needed to get my shopping done. And again, people were wide-eyed when I would say I was going Christmas shopping in September. The only people who weren’t all stares were the people at Macy’s, because now the red carpet and Christmas trees are actually on display in the first weeks of September. This time, I had the bowling ball in my belly (and he really was bigger than my 8 lb. bowling ball that I have in the basement for those rare trips to the alley) and a stroller, complete with an infant, diaper bag, purse, puffs, bottles, baby food, coupons, and any purchases I made hanging off the back of it. Don’t worry, I used the Stroller Swivels to hang the bags and made sure they weren’t too heavy to tip the stroller. (Note to new moms: you MUST get Stroller Swivels, handy little S-hooks that hang on any stroller bar to assist with packages, purses, and anything else you would rather not carry.)

And again, I did a great deal of online shopping. The UPS man and I would talk daily as he handed my brown packages to me. He didn’t ring the doorbell, because I never gave him the chance. When I would hear the big truck pull up, I would saunter run to the door so as to not wake The Bean during her naps.

Now, it is that time of year again, and this year we are not expecting a baby. 🙂 But I see the beauty of early shopping! Though there are no bowling balls this year, I do have a double boat stroller that currently holds 40 lbs of children, and an even bigger, though more stylish, diaper bag. So I think I will be braving the stores early in hopes of entertaining the children, getting out of the house, and crossing off those wish lists early. I’m sure I’ll even do some online shopping during nap times.

The question this year, as it is every year, is what to get for people. Let’s face it. Everybody has what they need, generally speaking. And most of us buy what we want. Each year I find my own wish list getting smaller and smaller. When I figure out exactly what it is I would like, I’ll be sure to let you know.

So if you are like me, you are always on the lookout for a good deal. I currently have five (yes FIVE) envelopes in my coupon drawer. Each is labeled with the type of coupon one would find inside if she were to want to get a good bargain while shopping. There’s the FOOD enveloped, filled with coupons to our favorite restaurants. There’s even a couple of gift cards in there. There’s a FORMULA envelope, which is pretty self-explanatory. It is always open for more Similac coupons, in case any of the three multitude of readers of mine want to pass on their SImilac coupons! And my favorite envelope? RETAIL! This contains all of the coupons to my favorite mall stores, with the exception of Bed, Bath, and Beyond coupons. Those are so big that they necessitate their own envelope. (PSA: Did you know that Bed, Bath, and Beyond does not adhere to the expiration dates on their coupons? It is TRUE! Try it. Be amazed.)

Anyway, now that I am feeling a bit better, it is time to get back into the retail world and start crossing off my Christmas list. I’m not sure what I will buy, but there’s no time like now to start looking! One thing I will do, though, is look for a bargain. And there’s no better bargain than something that is free! Because I’m so nice, I’ll let you in on the giveaway.

Over at 5 Minutes for Mom, (don’t worry, you don’t have to be a mom), they are having a contest to giveaway a new edition, hardcover set of all of the Harry Potter Books! (Disclaimer: I have never read them, and don’t know if I ever will. But from all the buzz, I’m sure some of you would like to receive or give these books to a loved one at Christmas!) All you have to do to get them is head on over to 5 Minutes for Mom and check out their post about the giveaway. Leave a comment on their blog, and you could win. That’s it! How easy is that? You could say something intelligent and witty, or you could just say, “Give it to me! I want it! Gimme Gimme Gimme!” It doesn’t matter. Leave a comment, win some books. Simple.

And if you are really cool, you’ll come back here and comment here too. I know you are out there! Speak up and say hello!

Leave a comment. Get great books. Do some shopping. Life is good.

3 Responses to "‘Tis the Season"

Hey, glad you’re feeling better! How’s the bean? Thanks for the tip on the Harry Potter giveaway. I’m feelin’ lucky. BTW, DeerPit made me laugh!

You REALLY need to start reading Harry Potter!!! I didn’t think I’d like the books, either, but then I was hooked!!!

OK, I’m heading over to win the whole collection — thanks!

It is funny how soon the Christmas shopping season creeps up on us. I am still wearing flip flops!

I remember carrying all those dishes that one year from the Pottery Barn. Those were the best gifts, just HEAVY! That was pretty funny. Pasta for all my friends!

Leave a Reply

