Pocketfuls of Sunshine

Sign Me Up!

Posted on: September 3, 2008

So today I packed up Beanie and Bubby and headed over to the local Recreation Center to sign up for fall class. And no, it’s not for me. It’s for The Bean. But I will be participating each week as she learns climbing, balance, and tumbling in her first gymnastics class.

I have to admit that I am super excited for her to go to class and I really hope she likes it. I should also admit that I was already checking out other moms who were in line for registration as well. Wondering which ones were signing up for Parent and Tot Gymnastics, I sized them up accordingly.

One mom appeared calm and cool as her toddler came over to befriend The Bean. They had a little one in a stroller, too, and I secretly hoped that this little girl would be in her class. As the mom gave her info, though, I heard her say she would be in the preschool class as the girl was over the age of three. Boo. She seemed like a sweet girl.

Mom number two had a gaggle of kids with her, one with a dirty face and the other who thought it was funny to repeat every.single.thing the mother said in that bratty tone that kids somehow turn on at the most inconvenient of times. So I heard every line twice. I was hoping that they might not be in The Bean’s new class, and I was pleasantly relieved when I finally heard the mom say, “We’re registering the girls for the children’s Hip-Hop dance class.” It was followed by en echo of “Hip-Hop” over and over from the repeater.

So, not unlike the first day of my own schooling, The Bean will have to meet other new children and make new friends. And I’ll be in the background doing the same. I will bet, though, that she won’t be the only nervous one. After all, the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

3 Responses to "Sign Me Up!"

Oh my gosh!! I was going to write a post called “Perhaps the Apple DOES Fall Far” because Miss M starts preschool this week. She is so shy that I wonder HOW she could POSSIBLY be MY child??!?!?! šŸ™‚ ha ha ha

I can remember going to my first class with my mother. It was a roller skating class. My mom was also in the class and there were a few of us little ones clinging on to the rails for dear life (or so it seemed)! I was maybe 2 or 3 years old. Little did I know I would be spending the majority of my time growing up on roller skates! Exercise, balance, fun and music rolled all in one! I loved it! Oh, did I mention the falls, bumps and bruises along the way?

Hello, I am new to blogging and have a question. If I Post a Comment to a blog you wrote days or weeks or months ago, who is gonna read it? If it ain’t gonna be read, then its like I never wrote it. Like the proverbial unheard forest tree falling.

Leave a Reply

